I Found My Thrill…Blueberry Sour Cream Muffins

Good Morning! I woke up very early (before 6:30 a.m.), and I was craving blueberry muffins. It must be because I spotted a bowl of fresh blueberries in the refrigerator before I went to bed. The weather is about 50 degrees and rainy, so what a better time to bake and make a fresh pot a coffee.

I gathered a handful of items I’m pretty sure I would need and grabbed an open container of sour cream. What the heck. I also decided to reach for the fresh lemon that was calling my name (I love lemons). Let’s see what I came up with.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups of flour
  • 2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 tsp of baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 8 oz sour cream
  • 2 tsp vanilla (1 tsp is never enough for me)
  • 1 tsp fresh lemon
  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 sticks of butter, softened (I used salted, and I never buy unsalted)
  • 1 1/2 cups of sugar
  • fresh blueberries (whatever I had…two cups?)

Recipe:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees on the lower (but not lowest) position in your oven.

I mixed all the dry ingredients in a bowl and “sifted through” with a whisk to incorporate. I creamed together the butter and sugar, and then added the eggs one at a time. Then, I added the vanilla, lemon, and sour cream. I didn’t over mix anything. Last but not least, I added the blueberries and gently folded them in with a spatula (to avoid breaking them).

I used a ladle to spoon the batter into paper cup lined muffin tins. This recipe made 24 muffins. I put both pans in on the same rack, so I switched them around after 13 minutes, and then cooked them for another 13 minutes.

img_0278

I ate one immediately out of the oven (patience is not one of my virtues), and it was delicious, and I was thrilled. I probably should have let it cool a bit. I don’t think it would have stuck to the paper so much then. Oops! Regardless, I hope you give this a try or use it to create your own version that will thrill you. I coupled it with hot, strong coffee (with coconut oil and honey), and it was the perfect way to start my day.

Enjoy! XOXOXO

P.S. – The ones on the right cooling rack were made in a metal pan, and the ones on the left were made in a dark coated pan. Hence, the difference in color.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “I Found My Thrill…Blueberry Sour Cream Muffins

Leave a Reply

