Fluffernutter French Toast

Growing up in Brooklyn, one of my favorite all time sandwiches was peanut butter and fluff (i.e., marshmellow cream). If I was really lucky, my Mom would put apple slices on it. When I tell you this is delicious it is an understatement. So, when I bought a loaf of French Brioche bread the other day, I decided to recreate my childhood favorite flavors. This is so easy and delicious and is guaranteed to put a smile on your face. It’s somewhat of a “fake”, because I recreated the flavor without actually using fluff. Check it out, and you’ll see what I mean.

Ingredients:

  • one loaf of French Brioche bread (or your choice…Hawaiian Bread would be terrific)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1/4 cup of flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tbs of vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp orange peel (optional)
  • peanut butter
  • thin apple slices
  • real maple syrup

Recipe:

Combine the ingredients (except bread, peanut butter, apple and maple syrup) in a large casserole dish. This makes it easy to mix all the ingredients in the dish and also use it to soak the bread. Cut the bread into slices about one inch thick. You should have room to place six slices in the dish, but I didn’t use the ends so mine had five slices.

Let the bread soak on each side for a few minutes. I moved the dish around to make sure it was evenly coated.

I’ve found that the key to good french toast is to cook it on low for about 11 minutes on each side. If you cook it too high, it will brown quickly but the inside of the bread will not cook. Yuck!  Anyway, use a little Crisco or vegetable oil to coat the bottom of a pan. I used an electric frying pan and put it on the low setting

Don’t be tempted to move the bread around. Just let it set for 11 minutes on each side. The end result is a perfectly cooked french toast that is ready for your choice of toppings. To make it taste like a fluffernutter sandwich, I used peanut butter, thin apple slices, and covered it with warm maple syrup.

img_0197

Pair this with an ice cold glass of milk, and you have a sweet breakfast creation. Through in a side of crisp bacon or hot sausage, and you have a wonderful meal that will satisfy even the pickiest of eaters.

Enjoy! XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

