Let Them Eat Quiche

Spinach quiche is an all time favorite brunch or lunch item for me and my children. We actually crave it! I had quiche for the first time many moons ago when my sister, Barbara, made it for brunch. I was surprised how good it was, and then, how easy it was to make. This recipe is a slight variation of the original recipe. Truthfully, I don’t think I make it exactly the same each time. Traditionally, it is made with Monterey Jack cheese. This variation uses Pepper Jack. I’ve also used Mozzarella and Parmesan. Goat cheese or Feta can be used with Monterrey Jack for a creamier consistency. You get the point. Be creative!

img_0129

Ingredients:

  1. 8 0z frozen spinach
  2. 4 oz cheese
  3. 2 tbs flour
  4. 1/2 cup whole milk
  5. salt and pepper to taste
  6. frozen pie crust

Recipe:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Microwave the frozen spinach for 5 minutes with a 1/4 cup of water in a covered casserole dish. Let it cool and then squeeze out the excess water with your hands. As you can see by the picture, I had a 16 oz package, but I usually use the frozen box of spinach. I cooked it all and saved half of it to use for spinach omelets for breakfast.

Put the spinach in a bowl and sprinkle with the 2 tbs of flour, salt and pepper, and mix well. Add the 1/2 cup of whole milk and mix well again. Add the eggs, one at time (I put them individually in the measuring cup I used for the milk and then pour it into the bowl) and mix each time. Last but not least, add the 4 oz of cheese (e.g., Pepper Jack this time) and mix well.

Pour the mixture into the uncooked frozen pie shell. I find that Marie Callender’s has the flakiest and best frozen pie shells. They come two to a pack, so I often make two quiches at once to avoid my children fighting over who gets one.

img_0132

Bake the quiche for 40 minutes and let cool for at least 10 minutes. Voila!  It’s that simple. Simple, delicious, healthy and fast. You can pair it will a fresh fruit salad and a glass of champagne for an elegant brunch.

I hope you try this or create your own by trying different vegetables (broccoli?) and cheeses. The best part is that it will easily feed six, and you’ve made it in under one hour from start to finish. Enjoy!

img_0134

2 thoughts on “Let Them Eat Quiche

Leave a Reply

