On the “Lamb”

As a child, I remember my mother making Leg of Lamb, usually for Easter.  It was far from a “go to” meal.  Over the past five years, my husband and I have been buying our meat from a local butcher.  The owner suggested I try lamb chops one day, because I was complaining that I was tired of the same ole’ meats!  To my surprise, I loved it!  I’ve made them several different ways, but this is the latest and greatest recipe I concocted.  It’s so easy, and fit for “company”.  I have to start taking pictures of these dishes, because it really is a pretty dish and it looks way fancier than it is.  I paid $25 for four lamb chops.  They are small, so allow two per person.  Serve it over rice with a vegetable side, and you’re all set!

Recipe:

  1. Four lamb chops
  2. 1 can Ortega diced tomatoes with green chilies
  3. Pepper
  4. Rosemary
  5. Garlic powder
  6. Olive oil

Bring the lamb chops to room temperature (this applies to all meats).  Pat dry and rub each side with rosemary, pepper, and garlic powder.  Heat skillet to med-high and put about two tablespoons of olive oil in the pan.  Let it get pretty hot.  Put chops in and reduce heat to medium heat.  Brown each side for about three to five minutes (nice and brown).  Pour a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies over the top of the lamb and cover.  Simmer for about 15 to 20 minutes. That’s it!  So easy. The meat will be tender and fall right off the bone, so make sure you plate it using a large spoon to keep it intact.  I put it on a bed of rice, and pour the cooking juices over the dish.  Enjoy!

P.S. – This would be an impressive and romantic Valentine’s Day dinner!  Pair with a Pinot Noir, and a simple chocolate mousse’ for dessert

Leave a Reply

